In pursuit of healthier eating – The 5:2 diet

My love for BBC health documentary host Michael Mosley, is well documented and deep as the ocean. I have been quite an avid fan since my year 10 science lesson days, where nothing was better than when our teacher would put on a Michael documentary. I still haven’t recovered from that time he was in a swimming pool topless.

Due to my everlasting love, I recently discovered @DrMichaelMosley, the legend himself on twitter. While scrolling through his feed (not obsessively) over the last few weeks, I’ve been reading a lot about his 5:2 diet. As far as I can tell, the premise of the diet is simple – eat normally for 5 days, and then eat 800 calories for the remaining 2 days.

In my journey to a six pack, arms which do NOT flap in the wind and a bum rivalling Kylie’s photoshopped jean Instagram, I am quite willing to try a wide range of different techniques. I joined WW  (and immediately cancelled my subscription, as it appeared to be an expensive MyFitnessPal with a little bit more self hatred), I’ve signed up for pole fitness. The only thing I have previously drawn the line at was drinking those shitty (literally) diarrhea teas.

But now, I am filled with trepidation about this concept. Normally my love for medical documentary hosts would trump my fear, but this particular diet is not something which looks healthy or sustainable for me. Most of that may be due to the fear of “Starvation mode” – which according to Michael, is a myth.

So, should I embrace the 5:2 diet? Or am I right to be a little bit scared about restricting my calories that much?

If anyone has the answer to these – please tell me!! I am curious about this diet in a way I have previously been curious about the domino’s cheeseburger pizza – an interesting concept, but maybe not the best idea when executed.

Leave a comment